Peter Sagan and Lizzie Armitstead win in Tour of Flanders

By in , , ,
No comments

Lizzie Armitstead of Britain won a sprint finish to triumph the women’s Tour of Flanders for the very first time. Peter Sagan, the fellow world champ, won men’s race with solo win. Lizzie, who rides for Boels-Dolmans team, left behind Emma Johansson of Sweden to win her race that is now part of Women’s WorldTour.
The duo broke clear on final climb. A group of 9 were unable to go after them down and Lizzie won in a long sprint to the line. This is the twenty-seven year old’s 4th victory of this season following her success at the Omloop het Nieuwsblad Trofeo Binda and Strade Bianche.
Sagan was twenty-five seconds clear of 3 time champ Fabian Cancellara, who was contending in his final Tour of Flanders, along with Sep Vanmarcke 3rd. The cyclist from Slovakia dropped Sep on the Paterberg, the tough cobbled ascent that has a maximum gradient of twenty percent, then held off Cancellara’s challenge, heightening his lead in the past five kilometers of the 255 kilometers race.
Luke Rowe of Britain was in the 5th spot, forty-eight seconds behind Sagan, along with fellow Welshman as well as Team Sky colleague Geraint Thomas twelfth.
Women’s result
1. Lizzie Armitstead (GB) 3:43.27
2. Emma Johansson (Swe)
3. Chantal Blaak (Ned)
4. Megan Guarnier (USA)
5. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita)
6. Eleonora van Dijk (Ned)
7. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned)
8. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)
9. Claudia Lichtenberg (Ger)
10. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol)
Men’s result
1. Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) 6:10:42
2. Fabian Cancellara (Trek)
3. Sep Vanmarcke(LottoNL)
4. Alexander Kristoff (Katyusha)
5. Luke Rowe (Team Sky)
6. Dylan van Baarle (Cannondale)
7. Imanol Erviti (Movistar)
8. Zdenek Štybar (Etixx – Quick-Step)
9. Dimitri Claeys (Wanty)
10. Niki Terpstra (Etixx – Quick-Step)